#PaigeTysTheKnot // Honeymoon

We arrived in Tamarindo, Costa Rica the Monday after our wedding, having gotten approximately 2 hours of sleep the night before. My Uncle Ron and Aunt Denise have a condo in Tamarindo (which they sold while we were there), and they were gracious enough to give us a week as a wedding present! We loved them already but this really sent them over the edge in the Christmas present department.

I got a fancy camera for Christmas so that I could take fancy pictures during our honeymoon. I therefore obviously left the charger in the US and had to take iPhone pics the whole time. Please bear with me as I bombard you with pictures, mostly consisting of food and elevator selfies.

image

Sunset from our balcony on our first night.

image

I had approx 87,345 pictures of the sunset this night…eager much?

image

Fire-grilled chicken from our favorite restaurant, Gallo Fino. It came with 3 sauces, which is my nirvana.

image

One time we came back just for dessert..there was a bit of a theme on this trip.

image

Our elevator had a mirror and we ended up taking a selfie every time we stepped in..should we make a coffee table book like Kim K? #yes #obviously. Also, notice how we are both basically sleeping standing up – we had been awake at this point for almost 24 hours. And as a bit of foreshadowing, please take note of how fluffy Tyler’s hair is at this point.

image

Our first full day! The sun was shining and I wasn’t sleeping with my eyes open in public anymore.

image

Noguis – maybe I lied when I said Gallo Fino was our favorite restaurant. I think we ate at Noguis 4 times that week? Oops? But look at that view!

image

Noguis is known for their banana cream pie, so we got a banana cream waffle. Carbs? What are carbs?

image

BREAKFAST TACOS. Bye.

image

This little bastard tried to attack me while I was attempting to banish my pasty whiteness. Attack might be slight hyperbole, but he came close to me and I felt threatened, so I think I could def make a case out of it in a court of law if I had to.

image

Returning with my cover-up so he could feed me again – I think I’ll keep him.

image

Cuban cigars aren’t as festive sounding when coupled with erectile dysfunction and dead people’s feet. Tyler didn’t let that slow him down, though.

image

Semi-alive looking elevator selfie!

image

Uncle Ron and Aunt Denise treated us to dinner at their favorite restaurant, El Coconut, and the owner even remembered what they order every time they come in! So fun!

image

I would link to my Lilly for Target shift, but that would just be rude. I will link to my neckalace, however, which I am OBSESSED with. Fabulina is my spirit animal.

image

Surf and Turf – you can’t see it, but it came with several sauces. Yassssss.

image

We decided to stop wallowing around by the pool and actually do an activity. It was a 5 hour snorkeling trip with Blue Dolphin Sailing – if you are ever in Tamarindo, we would highly recommend them! So nice, and they fed us, which…

image

Requisite water pic.

image

I didn’t take many pictures of this trip because I was trying to be “in the moment” or whatever. But we went snorkeling in this cove!

image

I did snap a few of the sunset from the back of the boat, so pretty.

image

Back to Noguis for a light pie snack!

image

I attempted to do my hair for the first and last time on this trip. I did not attempt to iron. Please notice how Tyler’s hair is progressing.

image

Our bestie Solomon at Flying Bull tried really hard to get us the perfect angle. He must do this a lot.

image

We shared a meat sampler. It came with chimichurri, which I think I could drink?

image

Full and happy.

image

Full and sad.

image

The next day, we found a barbecue place! Longboards is owned by a man from Raleigh, and he has created a more authentic NC barbecue place in Costa Rica than some I have been to that are actually in NC.

image

Tyler got the brisket sandwich and onion rings – I got a burger and fries. So nom, so delish.

image

I’ve seen that face before..

image

This little cutie was right outside the gate to our condos, and we went almost everyday once we found it. Cafe Santa Rita is owned by the nicest young couple (Granny? Is that you? What am I saying?). Anyway, you gotta go.

image

Dolce de Leche tarts with chocolate topping. I think I ate 12.

image

And then the rain came…

image

…which was a good thing, because SOMEONE was in charge of telling me if I was burning or not. This happened in 1 hour! The sun don’t mess.

image

We ate at some seafood place. It was good but ehh. Look at that hair helmet he was developing.

image

This creature again! Gives me the heebs.

image

We developed a slight addiction to Lizano sauce while we were there, and brought them back for our brothers (2 each for mine, as they had been to CR before and begged me). The big bottle is obviously 3/4 empty in our fridge right now.

image

We asked a stranger to take a picture of us and he didn’t speak English but miming is universal so it worked out. We only went swimming from the beach on our first day because there are so many surfers – we stayed by the pool the rest of the time and it was perfect.

image

Tyler had a “Green Flash” that tasted like battery acid (in a good way) and I pulled a Nancy Gamble and got a vodka margarita. Latitude Blue had the best sunset views and we got a front row seat.

image

The sky was weird so the sun came down from under some clouds and then went down into some more..it was supa cool.

image

This was when I was about to be carried away my mosquitoes..I had to buy an extra-large tube of extra-strength Benadryl cream when we got home and I woke myself up at night for a week because of the scratching. #honeymoonphase #sexy

image

Three different dips and fried avocado. It’s all very hazy now, but I think I almost took off one of Tyler’s fingers in the feeding frenzy.

image

Our last morning before we flew away – so beautiful!

image

We obviously had to take a final elevator selfie.

image

He upgraded us to first class and was very proud of himself. For those of you who don’t know, I have always called Tyler “Whale” because his last name is “Whalen,” but it has somehow turned into about 40 different names, one of which is “Fish.” Makes sense, right? Anyway..

image

This is why I told you to keep an eye on that mane. He realized that morning that he had been using conditioner all week instead of shampoo. I made him put the hat back on.

I hope you liked all of these!

xoxo,

P

8 thoughts on “#PaigeTysTheKnot // Honeymoon

  1. Pingback: #PaigeTysTheKnot // Getting Ready | My Blue Haven

  2. I didn’t get to see some of these…once we started talking we never finished the pics! Love you Paigie! This pictures were awesome especially Tyler’s hair…I mean I’m still laughing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

