I’m Back, Bitches // Marla’s Engaged!

Well, hello there! Did you think I was never coming back? Sorry about that. The world got pretty dicey and blogging felt weird. Fortunately, today I have some amazing news to report: Marla and her sweet boyfriend Josh got engaged over the weekend!!!

1609848_10105388119053043_9056873299216778709_n

Isn’t her dress cute? Josh had the brilliant idea to order her a special dress to wear to the surprise brunch after they got engaged! Shannon found it at Loft (and it’s on sale now!).

Shannon, Alex, and I received an email the morning after we all got home from Alex’s bachelorette party (I blogged about that here and here) that was titled “Can you keep a secret?” Um, NO I CANNOT KEEP A SECRET WHY DO YOU ASK???? Poor Josh. We were all so excited, our travel plans were made within approximately half an hour and he was inundated with emails from all of us. The fact that he still wanted to marry our girl after dealing with us says a lot about his love for her. We approve.

Alex had hiked the Appalachian Trail with her mom the week before (in a real way, not a Mark Sanford way), and made plans to drive up that Saturday and stay in Richmond with Marla’s family. Shannon and I flew up that Friday night to stay with our friends Claire and Courtney.

I could jump in to the DC portion of our trip, but that would mean glazing over hours of “good” times we had Friday night before we even got there. So, I will start from the top.

Our plane was supposed to leave Charleston at 7:40 ish on US Air (DAMN YOU US AIR), so I bee-bopped down to Shannon’s house when I got off work. Right when I got there, we got a call saying the flight had been delayed by 30 minutes or so. Ok, whatever, we decided to pop over to EVO for some pizza and beer, and then to J Crew Factory for some gratuitous shopping browsing.

IMG_3869

So happy! She didn’t know yet what was in store for us.

IMG_3920

The only chocolate you ever need to eat again.

Look at us still smiling – we had no clue how long we would be in that damn airport. “Wooo! We’re going to DC! No big deal about this 30 minute delay! Let’s have more beer! And take some Snapchat selfies!”

IMG_3782

I adore Snapchat for their Charleston Strong thingie (what do you call those things?)

We made some friends (as we are wont to do) at the bar. We bonded over several things, including but not limited to:

1. “Gosh, it’s hot in here, right?”

2. “This airport is disgusting.”

3. “(Afghanistan/Nigeria/Costa Rica) has a better airport than this. No judgment on those countries, but, come on.”

4. “Beer is good, amirite?”

5. “I’m not the only one sweating, am I?”

6. “Did you just get that call about the new delay?”

7. “HOW HOT IS IT IN HERE?”

8. “They let drunk people on planes, correct?”

IMG_3865

The gang’s all here. Our bartender, Susan, took this dream of a pic. I promise I’m not pregnant, my shirt just wants me to look that way.

One of our members works for a certain government agency, and was pretty liberal about walking away from his bag and leaving it unattended. We all kept yelling “WHAT DON’T DO THAT WAIT WHAT ARE YOU DOING,” but apparently working with the big dawgs makes you not as freaked out by those pesky airport rules and regulations.

We FINALLY boarded circa 10:30, and the lady over the intercom may or may not have encouraged us to chug our beers because it was boarding time. We made lots more friends on the plane, one of whom was named Marlin. I only have videos of him, and I can’t figure out how to upload them, so you will have to trust me when I tell you that he was a good time. He taught us about reggae from the Turks and Caicos, and it was the best.

IMG_3722

I’m trying to teach her how to Kardash in pictures. She got better as the weekend went by.

We landed in DC a little before midnight, and had to wait on Claire and Courtney to come pick us up. Now, I will tell you that Shannon and I were on a MISSION to have Shake Shack as soon as we got off the plane, but that damn million year delay looked like it was going to ruin it for us (they close at midnight). Courtney suggested we get Dominoe’s instead, and Shannon and I may have thrown a fit on the airplane. No. 

IMG_3903

Depressed about our lack of Shake Shack.

IMG_3770

Devastated by no Shake Shack.

Luckily, those sneaky little tricks were lying, and they had Shake Shack waiting for us in the car when they pulled up to the airport. There is a video of the feeding frenzy, but I think it’s best to leave those kinds of things off of here, right Shan?

We made our way into the city, and Courtney forced me to get out of the car to take a picture of the Monument. So pretty at night!IMG_3801

I will pause here and explain to you why we want to punch Courtney: she lives in a mansion. Yes, a straight up mansion. Several sitting U.S. Presidents have eaten dinner in her house (not while she lived there, but while the owner she rents from lived there). She’s living the high life (for reasonable rent!!!) and we are jealous. Below, Shannon and I are in the bathtub together to demonstrate how amazing her bathroom is. Shannon may have been threatening her with bodily harm. IMG_3873

Usually, we all stalk each other on Find My Friends. Josh’s first instruction to us was to turn it off before we came to DC. BUT, we knew that would tip Marla off that something was up; we always have our apps on. Shannon and I devised a plan and set our iPads up as the location on Find My Friends instead of our phones so that it would like like we were both at home all weekend. We stalked Marla to make sure we wouldn’t run into her, and it was crazy to think we were so close!IMG_3742

Courtney lives across the street from a few embassies – what a beautiful view from the manse. IMG_3963

We took ourselves on another browsing expedition, and I actually didn’t buy anything. This is progress. IMG_3743

We went to an adorable coffee shop, Dolcezza, with the best gelato I’ve ever had (that’s right, I said it Italy). Shannon’s favorite was pineapple mint, Courtney’s was champagne mango, and mine was cucumber mint vodka. Mmmmmm.IMG_3909

Courtney took us to Agora for her cousin’s 30th birthday brunch. The day gets sort of fuzzy from there because it was bottomless food and drinks. And not just mimosas or bloodies; Courtney and I had several vodka dranks, all for $35! And all of the dips! So many dips!IMG_3934 IMG_3893We popped by the monuments (after Courtney forced shots down our throats back at her house). We obviously had to take the gratuitous South Carolina pictures, as well as millions of selfies on Snapchat with the different geotags. 

IMG_3780IMG_3942

IMG_3970

IMG_3966

It. Was. So. Hot.

IMG_3974

“Here we mark the price of freedom.”

IMG_3854IMG_3918The Lincoln Memorial was particularly poignant in light of recent events. Such a beautiful place. 
IMG_3802

Did you know South Carolina was the 8th state to join the Union? Now you do.IMG_3793Looking over to Arlington. 
IMG_3816 IMG_3830 IMG_3887 IMG_3847

At this point, we had had enough of Courtney’s tomfoolery and we were too hot to let her take anymore pictures of us. I think my face says it all here.IMG_3819

We compromised and agreed to a few more selfies…IMG_3751

…but she tricked us and made us take more before we could get in an Uber. Shannon was having none of it…
IMG_3906

…but I made her get up there with me…
IMG_3911

…so that we could pose like assholes and Courtney would finally take us to eat (at Shake Shack).IMG_3924

ONE MORE COURTNEY THAT’S IT.

IMG_3915

Sweet Courtney. She told us that our stomachs would hurt and we would ruin or dinner (yes, she is our mother; we like it). She was WRONG though and our stomachs had actually never felt better than after our 12th meal of the day. We had a very difficult time saying Shake Shack, and it has somehow morphed into Snick Snack, which I will call it from now on. IMG_3787I’m booking a haircut appointment STAT.
IMG_3922

We were ready for dinner (30 minutes late for our reservaton, but who’s counting?) and we had to brave it through tornado-like winds and rain to get to the restaurant our Uber in the driveway. But first, mirror selfies:IMG_3732IMG_3733We went to Farmers Fishers Bakers and I got a sidekick Coke for my traveling sidekick, Shannon. Our waitress was the most annoying person in existence, but the food was good!
IMG_3881

Love these two!

IMG_3908

A terrible shot of the Kennedy Center at night (that, I don’t have to tell you, Courtney forced me to take). IMG_3817

The next morning, we woke up and got ready for the big event: Marla’s surprise engagement brunch!IMG_3714

I almost peed on myself when we saw how close we were to her (you know when you play hide and seek and you all of a sudden have to pee even though you just went? That’s how I felt all day while we were being sneaky). IMG_3755

We met up with Alex and Marla and Josh’s families in the club room of Josh’s building – we may or may not have had a crying fit with Marla’s mom when we first walked in. IMG_3891

Finally, Marla and Josh arrived and we got to scream “MAZEL TOV!” at the top of our lungs. I think we’ve been waiting to do that for about 10 years. She was so shocked and kept crying and saying “you’re here?” That moment was worth all of the plane delays (yes, we had more than one this weekend). Shannon put up a great video of it on her post from yesterday.

IMG_3853

THAT’S A ROCK. We think we’ll keep Josh.

IMG_3786We had to take a picture of all of our rings together – I can’t believe we’re all married/getting married. Are we old enough for this?
IMG_3815

Sadly, we had to fly away from our friends and get our third Snick Snack meal of the weekend before heading back to SC. Once again, our plane was supposed to leave at 7:40 ish. They boarded us late, let us sit on the plane for half an hour while we  rolled around the tarmac, and then returned us to the gate and deboarded us. We were less than pleased. IMG_3765

We bided our time by eating giant bags of Cheez-Its and delicious chocolates. IMG_3776

After sitting there for over an hour, they told us the plane was out of service and that we had to get on a shuttle across the airport to go to our new plane. The door of the shuttle tried to absorb Shannon into itself, but I unfortunately do not have this on film. We FINALLY got on our new plane and made our way back to Charleston, but not without more selfies. IMG_3772

I had to drive back to Columbia that night and made it home at 2 AM. If you work for US Air, you should know that I hate you. Yes, you personally. I’m holding all of you accountable for the 6+ hours of delays we suffered in 1 weekend. Still, I am elated that I got to be part of Marla and Josh’s big day and I love them so much!

AND, last but not least, a big thank you goes out to Courtney for being such an amazing hostess – all of the pictures she made us take were worth it and she went out of her way to give us a fun DC experience.


I’m sure you’ve seen it on Facebook, but I wanted to remind you to wear blue and white tomorrow in honor of the Charleston 9, and, if you feel like it, to change your profile picture to this:

11054407_1694604414101009_7550644948242348120_nAlso, tomorrow is the last day you can order this beautiful print by April Knight of Worship Artist Ministries, LLC (all net profits go to the Mother Emanuel Hope Fund). I can’t wait to get mine!

1533839_10204590061860075_2725095507042992896_nBefore I go, I would like to wish a belated Happy Father’s Day to my papa, who graciously didn’t complain when I totally bailed on him to go to DC to surprise Marla. We’re going to see Paul McCartney tonight (!!!) and I think the anticipation might kill us. Love you, Daddy!

a99ed25fa3198fd7eb4c889bfe37ee1a

xo,

P

4 thoughts on “I’m Back, Bitches // Marla’s Engaged!

  1. Pingback: #theMoorToddstheMerrier // Pt. 1 | My Blue Haven

  2. Pingback: Weekend Recap | My Blue Haven

Leave a Reply

