House Tour // Guest Bedroom and Bathroom

Look at me, posting what I tell you I’m going to post. I deserve something special for this. Luckily, I’m going to the Mr. and Mrs. Carter spin class at Sweat tonight, so I already have something pretty spectacular coming down the pipeline.

These pictures are…less than professional looking. I’m going to blame it on the fact that I was holding our babiest neighbor for some of these, rather than on my shoddy photography skills. That’s a thing I can do because she can’t read yet, right?

Behold: the most boring room in our house. Selfishly, because I don’t use the guest bedroom, it’s fallen to the bottom of the pile as far as decorating goes. Oops.
IMG_3543

I really need to do something about this. The giant console is a record player that I inherited from my grandparents – I want to paint it or something but I’m not exactly sure where it will end up in our house yet. (The picture quality here is super weird..?)
IMG_3429

This little babe decided to model the bed for us. Please pause while I have an Ellie-centric freak out.IMG_3430 I”M OBSESSED WITH HER.IMG_3441

AHHHHH!IMG_3524 Anyhow, back to home decor. I have had these Serena and Lily shams (and the matching duvet) since college and I still love them. The duvet felt like too much (surprise, surprise), so I paired them with all white bedding.IMG_3535 Please ignore the crooked lampshade? #homedecorbloggingfailIMG_3537 Let’s call the view on this side of the house…lackluster.IMG_3542 I just love this picture of little Tyler!IMG_3538 Thank God we have these double closets to store all of the crap we can’t fit in the other closets in our house. I suspiciously forgot to take a picture of the inside…IMG_3540 This is a quasi-cute fixture that puts off quasi-light. It will probably need replacing at some point.IMG_3541

Because this will probably be a nursery one day (ONE DAY FAR AWAY CALM DOWN), I don’t really want to put any effort into painting (you know how I feel about painting). In light of that, I just want to play with the bedding, curtains, etc. to liven up the room. I like the idea of attempting to make a slipcover for the bed in a fun pattern, maybe like the one below?

Maybe I could channel my longing for light blue furniture and paint a piece for the guest room?

And isn’t this the cutest idea?

Now, on to the guest bathroom:
IMG_3546 IMG_3548 IMG_3547

I have a legitimate peony problem, like every other basic on planet earth. ACCEPT ME FOR WHO I AM, OK? Also, more whales.IMG_3549

This shower curtain could be longer. It could also be less wrinkly. It could also just be better in general.IMG_3551 IMG_3555

I could have hung this up before taking pictures to post on the interwebs, but then I didn’t.IMG_3553

Is this not the absolute DUMBEST place to put the bathroom light??? I still walk in and fumble around on the wall to the right of the door before I remember that some idiot put it halfway across the room.
IMG_3557

You won’t believe me, but I feel like going really bold in this bathroom. I’m for real this time, not like the time I told you I was painting the dining room table some shade of blue and then ended up painting it the most neutral color in America. Look at this wallpaper! Do I need it???

OR! Should I try my hand at stenciling, a la this gorgeous laundry room from Pretty Practical Home? Definitely more cost-effective, but will I murder someone in a fit of rage when I inevitably screw it up? Yes Possibly. I think it might be worth the risk – look how pretty it is!IMG_3568

We for sure need this.

IMG_3566

via

And wouldn’t this be so much better than those lame (beautiful, but lame) towels hanging above the commode?

IMG_3565

Let me know what you think we should do to spruce up these two glaringly beige rooms! Any ideas? I promise to at least consider your input this time without panicking about too much color.

xo, Paige

5 thoughts on “House Tour // Guest Bedroom and Bathroom

  1. Pingback: Friday Five // Our Wedding Video | My Blue Haven

  2. Pingback: Five on Friday // Our Wedding Video | My Blue Haven

  3. Well, I’m clearly behind on my blog reading so now I look like a crazed stalker commenting on your posts. Thanks for the mention. I’m going to suggest the wainscoting/paper combo. Don’t stencil unless you want to be miserable. I’d be willing to stencil an accent wall or a piece of furniture, but not a whole room. I think I’ve pinned that bath before because I loved it so much. No idea how to install wainscoting so I’ll be hiring out if I decide to do something similar in Claire’s bathroom. I’ll stop commenting now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

