Baby Shower With A Twist

This past Sunday, I helped host a couples baby shower for our sweet friends Cassy and Todd. They’re having a baby boy (likely as you are reading this), but Jessie (my co-hostess) and I decided to stray from the traditional blue color palette. Instead, we chose a lemon theme in keeping with the summer vibes we’ve got going on around here. So, we threw a baby shower with a twist. A lemon twist. Like in a drink. Get it? Should I stop now? Fine.

We found these precious invites on Etsy:


Jessie was in charge of the food while I was in charge of the decor. I got wayyyyyy too deep into the party aisle at Target and I have more than a few things to return this week…but! I made a cute crafty-adjacent banner that I thought turned out well. There are only 4-ish steps to being as artsy as me:

1. Buy a banner and letter stickers from Target.

IMG_3589

2. Spray paint said stickers gold; nearly go blind from the sun’s glare.

IMG_3588

3. Slap stickers on the banner at will; only ruin 1; pat yourself on the back.

IMG_0458

4. Hang your masterpiece on the mantle, or wherever similarly perfect creations go in your home. 
IMG_0478

After exerting myself with all of that DIY decorating, I decided to keep it simple and only use white flowers and greenery everywhere else. The Fresh Market’s flower selection was FIRE. Gladiolas for everyone!

IMG_3615IMG_0459

Do you know how hard it is to get lemons to float just so? Extremely. I was elbow deep in that vase for longer than I care to admit (sorry for that visual…).IMG_0461 IMG_0462The Fresh Market’s plate selection was also FIRE. I couldn’t have imagined more perfect plates for this party.
IMG_0463

I was in charge of cocktails (duh), and I decided to do a “Basil Lemonade Spritzer.” In other words, I jammed a bunch of basil into some Trader Joe’s lemonade, let it sit in the fridge for a few hours, then added La Croix (lemon) and vodka. (Just to clarify, I only bought low-cal lemonade because they were out of regular. I would def do regular next time. And I would maybe sub Sprite for La Croix – it wasn’t sweet enough for me.)

IMG_3613IMG_0469 IMG_0470 IMG_0471 IMG_0473Jessie had a sweet cake made with Baby Will’s monogram! (No, they have not committed to Will yet, but I have).
IMG_0506 IMG_0518 IMG_0542 IMG_0543

The parents-to-be!IMG_0546 IMG_0549 IMG_0593Tyler celebrated the end of his first baby shower attendance by releasing the balloons without permission. He took a lot of joy in it, which was simultaneously amusing and disturbing to watch. 
IMG_3618

That’s all for now! A big thanks goes out to my co-hostess with the mostest and, of course, the mama-and-daddy-to-be for letting me be part of such a special day!

xo, Paige

3 thoughts on “Baby Shower With A Twist

  1. Lovely shower, Paige! The drink sounds delicious–I’ll try it with the regular lemonade. Fresh Market is my favorite grocery store. This isn’t helpful, but did you know they sell this stuff? http://www.thecookiedoughcafe.com/flavors/ It’s magically delicious but should only be used for extreme emergencies. I kind of wish I’d never tried it.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekend Recap | My Blue Haven

Leave a Reply

