Thank God It’s Friday // Flood Edition

I just wanted to share this quick little reflection I saw on Facebook, written by a man here in Columbia named Shell Suber. I don’t know him personally, but I think I can speak for most Columbians who have seen the flood-affected areas when I say that this is a perfect explanation of how all of us have felt this week. For your reference, my in-laws and many family friends live on or near Burwell and Rickenbacker (and they’re all safe, praise Jesus).

“My family spent most of the day on nearby Burwell Lane and Rickenbacker Road helping neighbors in Cross Hill. It’s numbing. Things that were possessions five days ago are debris today. The blazer with the brass buttons someone’s dad had as long as they can remember. The sofa from grandma’s. The photo album. The daughter’s wedding dress. Someone’s diploma. Someone’s yearbook. The new stove. The old Buick. A lawnmower. Lamps and chairs and rugs and tables and beds. Wet and ruined things in pile after pile – some as big as a school bus – grow along the street. Volunteers young and old covered in foul mud going from house to house dragging someone else’s life into the yard, into the grass, into the sunlight. Every corner is a makeshift restaurant where donated food and water are dispensed. Each person’s face reveals the unexpected gift of renewed perspective. You wish a day like this would never come. You wish every day was like this.

I’m going to have to brain dump all of my feelings on this thing in a few days or weeks, I’m thinking, but I don’t have it in me right now. Thank you for all of your calls, texts, and donations. It means more to our city than you can ever know.

sc 1

Please pray for my family in the lowcountry, an area that is still suffering from flooding.

xo, Paige

2 thoughts on “Thank God It’s Friday // Flood Edition

  1. Guess the lesson we learn over and over is as long as there is life there is hope. Everything else is just window dressing. Bad long as we have each other nothing else matters
    Dad

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All of you are in my prayers. I have wonderful memories of 24 yrs. living in Columbia. Forest Acres and Lake Katherine area, Burwell Lane, Rickenbacker are old stomping grounds! Breaks my heart to see the destruction but at the same time thrills me to see all the people helping people! Shell said it well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

