Weekend Recap

Why hello there! Long time no see. I’ve been traveling/busy/lazy these last few weeks, but I think I’m back now! I have several posts comin’ atcha regarding my cousin’s wedding in California, but first I’m going to give you a little recap from this past weekend.

Friday night, we went to my brother’s football game (he’s a teacher and coach at Richland Northeast here in Columbia). RNE became region co-champs for the first time since 2005, and Friday night they won their first playoff game since 2008! (I think my stats are right, but I’m guessing my blog audience doesn’t know either so work with me on this, plz.) My brother’s team started off the season pretty rocky, but they’re like a new team now and Friday they play South Pointe High School, Jadaveon Clowney’s alma mater….fingers crossed for my brother!
Saturday morning (at 6:30!!!!!), Tyler forced me out of bed and into the car for a 5 1/2 hour drive up to Richmond, VA for an engagement party for Marla and Josh. The party didn’t start until 7, but Tyler wanted to get there in time for Carolina’s noon kickoff. The game didn’t go our way, but we were thankfully there early to participate in arguably the most important aspect of wedding planning: cake and wine tasting. Before I go any further, I need to gush about Marla and her family for a minute. Anyone who knows Marla knows what a sweet, caring, and loyal friend she is. Marla would unhesitatingly come to my rescue if I was halfway around the world. I’ve known her family for a while now, and after spending another wonderful weekend with them I can confirm that she comes by her ways naturally. They are so welcoming and warm, I’m just obsessed with them! Her family has definitely achieved #familygoals status. Josh fits right in and I’m so excited to see them create their own perfect family. End gush.

I realize now that I never told the blog world about my new haircut, so here you go: I cut off 6 ish inches and I love it! (If you follow me on Instagram you’ve probably already seen it. If you don’t follow me on Instagram, well, that’s rude.) To the party, I wore the same 1.State dress that I wore to my rehearsal dinner. It’s perfect for two reasons: 1) it has pockets, and 2) no Spanx are required because of the flouncy thing. That’s a perfect dress in my book. Tyler wore his camel hair blazer, which was apparently a novelty item in Richmond. Everyone kept asking him about it and touching it and Tyler loved every minute.I have about 1,000 pictures of Marla and Josh in front of this fireplace, which accounts for how sweaty they were when I cut them loose from photo time. They’re going to make such a handsome bride and groom on March 20th! (I’d like to go ahead and take full credit for how perfect her makeup is, thank you very much. Luckily, I had a great canvas to work with.)

Now, I don’t know if you knew this, and this is my first Jewish wedding so I’m still learning, but Jewish people can COOK! I feel like I started stuffing my face the moment I stepped into Marla’s parents’ house and I never stopped. The party food was amazing and I felt like I needed to roll around on the floor after I finished eating.This is getting put in a frame for our house ASAP.

You’ll catch this vibe when I recap our quick trip to San Francisco last weekend but when my family only has a minute in a new city, we try to find the best local bakery possible and that’s where we take in our culture for the day. My mom and I once had only 24 hours in Paris (long story) and we found the most delicious bakery that we still talk about ten years later. I’m trying to acclimate Tyler to my ways, so I did a quick Google search and found a bakery in Petersburg, VA (idk anything about Petersburg, it was just on the way back down 95). Buttermilk Bake Shop was the bougiest looking bakery in my search results, so that’s where we went and I wouldn’t change a thing. I was sold as soon as I saw the retro logo design. SO GOOD.
I’m in love with this pineapple print, sorry for the glare.

I’m so irritated with my new iPhone 6s – the camera is so good but if you move even a little bit the picture comes out fuzzy. I’m still acclimating. Wallpaper dreams.

I got a lemon-blueberry glazed doughnut (10/10), Tyler got a Samoan doughnut (like the Girl Scout cookie), and we grabbed two mini lemon chess pies that we were way too full to eat, so we pawned them off on my parents when we got home. We’ve already decided we’re eating at Buttermilk again on our way back up to the wedding in March. Loved it.

I’m pretty excited to say that I’m back to my sugar-and-flourless existence after the last two weeks of over-indulging. Come back tomorrow for part one of our trip to California!

xo, Paige

4 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Josh and could not have been happier to have you two with us this weekend. We love you and are so grateful for your friendship. We’ll meet you at Buttermilk next time 🙂

    Like

  2. Yay….to this entire blog! I am just saying that Marla is precious! And Josh is one blessed man! Congratulations to the happy couple! And Paige…you know how to blog gurl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

