One Room Challenge // Preview

1459391059842

If you’ve read design blogs for a while like I have, then you’ve probably heard of the One Room Challenge™, created by Linda from Calling it Home. I could explain it myself, but it’s much easier (and more understandable) to just quote directly from her site:

“The One Room Challenge™, currently in its tenth season, is a widely anticipated biannual event every April and October. Each round, twenty design bloggers take the challenge and transform a space. Every Wednesday, the designers document their process while sharing their sources and professional advice over the six weekly posts.

In addition to following along, everyone with a blog is welcome to join the fun as a Guest Participant by  linking their own room transformations up during the six weeks. Each Thursday, the internet and social media are flooded with interior design inspiration, ideas, and encouragement.

To date, more than 700 rooms have been transformed through the One Room Challenge™. The event, and many of the spaces, have been recognized and featured.”

Basically, it’s a good way to force yourself to actually finish a room in your house because of the peer pressure involved in linking up to a very popular blog where a bunch of strangers will notice if you slack off.

We’ve been in this house for over a year and I haven’t done anything to our guest bathroom but put up a shower curtain…it’s probably time I changed that? Every Thursday for the next six weeks, I’ll be chronicling my progress in our guest bathroom and I’ll hopefully have a finished product at the end. Wish me luck!

On Thursday, I’ll be showing you the before pictures and my design “plan” – I’m more of a fly by the seat of my pants kind of gal so we’ll see how my plan turns out.Here’s a little sneak peek of what I’m thinking:

08-finale2

Until then, I highly encourage you to go check out some ORC rooms. Here are some of my favorites from past challenges:

 

 

xo, Paige

PS: You can follow along on Pinterest and Instagram!

3 thoughts on “One Room Challenge // Preview

  1. I love love your inspiration so far. You are so brave to do a bathroom! I tried during the April event last year and I didn’t finish (still waiting to put up my wallpaper actually). You are going to do great! Good Luck, can’t wait to follow along! Also thanks for featuring my Navy ORC from October!

    Like

  2. Pingback: ORC Week 1 // Guest Bathroom Plan | My Blue Haven

Leave a Reply

