ORC Week 5 // The Hustle

Week 1 // Week 2 // Week 3 // Week 4 // Week 5 // Week 6

1459391059842

Oh. Hey, there. Is it week 5 of the One Room Challenge ALREADY?! I’ve fully entered panic mode. I’ve been dragging my feet with the wall stencil, partly because I’ve been waiting for Tyler to move the light switch, patch the hole, and paint it, and partly mostly because I avoid things I don’t like doing like most people. Thankfully I work best under pressure because I’m feeling a lot of it right now.

Like I’ve mentioned before, the light switch is on the wall behind the door and people look something like this every time they use the guest bathroom, drunk or not (thanks for this one, Instagram):img_6681Well, Tyler and his electrician genius friend figured out the hard way that there are a bunch of studs or something in the walls of this bathroom that prevented the last electrician from putting the switch where it logically belonged. Earlier this week, our bathroom looked like this: After starting to cut the hole for the new switch, they ran into another stud (or something? I didn’t really listen…). Anyhow, they came up with this solution and I’m just so happy, which let’s me know how old I’ve gotten, getting so excited over a light switch. 

Now that the switch has been moved and Tyler has patched the 75 hideous but necessary holes in the walls, I have no excuse but to push forward with this stencil business. I’m going to save all of those pictures for next week’s final reveal, but for now I’ll show you some more of the accessories I’ve snapped up.

I ordered these beauties from Hempstead Thread (obviously with our monogram, and the stitching is in white). It’s kind of like Leontine Linen for real people. I’m obsessed with their Etsy shop and plan to buy some more things in the very near future for the rest of our house. Picking a monogram style is next to impossible, so consider yourself warned.

il_570xn-954147216_76rw

I grabbed a basket like this one (minus the fabric liner and a little bit darker) from Home Goods to use as a trash can.

traditional-baskets

Last week I was in the middle of a crisis regarding the best knobs to put on our vanity. I initially bought these:

71f1fc6360b5f19483c214f9379fb420

But I received several texts telling me that my instincts were correct and that I should order these instead:

Capture

Well, wouldn’t you know that they’re back-ordered until May 20th??? UGH. I’m still scrambling trying to figure out a solution. Wish me luck.

I also stopped by Bed, Bath, and Beyond (which I usually try to avoid, but one goes where one has gift cards) to pick out a new shower curtain. I wanted something longer and plain white, so I bought this guy.

I’m still having a doozy of a time picking out artwork for the room and that has most of my attention right now. I could show you what I’m thinking, but I’ll leave it as a surprise until next week (mostly because it’s still a surprise to me…).

Make sure you go check out the other guest participants!

xo, Paige

 

10 thoughts on “ORC Week 5 // The Hustle

  1. Pingback: ORC Week 1 // Guest Bathroom Plan | My Blue Haven

  2. Pingback: ORC Week 2 // Paint, Paint, Paint | My Blue Haven

  3. Pingback: ORC Week 3 // Paint Changes + A Stencil | My Blue Haven

  4. Pingback: ORC Week 4 // Accessories | My Blue Haven

  5. I adore the sneak peeks and I can’t wait for the reveal! I love the direction the space is going in. As a fellow ORC participant it’s been wonderful to gather some fantastic inspiration. I’d love for you to share your progress at Thoughts of Home on Thursday. Our readers would love to see it. The gathering is at http://www.decortoadore.net

    Like

  6. It’s looking good so far Paige! I have totally procrastinated all of the annoyingly hard work until the last week. The pressure is on! I’ll be coming back to see the reveal, can’t wait!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Banana Leaf + Palm Print // Trend Forecast | My Blue Haven

  8. Pingback: ORC Week 6 // Final Reveal | My Blue Haven

Leave a Reply

